Home Football Eguavoen releases 28-man list for AFCON 2022, Ndidi, Osimhen to play in...

Eguavoen releases 28-man list for AFCON 2022, Ndidi, Osimhen to play in Cameroon

tunisia - lagospost.ng

Head Coach Augustine Eguavoen has named his 28-final list of the Super Eagles of Nigeria for the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) taking place in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6, 2022.

This was announced in a statement released by the Nigeria Football Federation on Saturday.

The former Super Eagles’ captain selected four goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders, and 10 forwards for Nigeria’s at the AFCON in Cameroon.

Some of the players invited are Ahmed Musa (captain), Wilfred Ndidi and Victor Osimhen.

Goalkeepers Maduka Okoye and Francis Uzoho, defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Olaoluwa Aina and Abdullahi Shehu, midfielders Joseph Ayodele-Aribo and Chidera Ejuke, and forwards Moses Simon, Odion Ighalo, and Samuel Chukwueze were also invited.

Returning to the team is former U-17 World Cup-winning captain Kelechi Nwakali, forward Emmanuel Dennis, and the 2016 Olympics star Sadiq Umar.

“All invited players, bar the UK-based crew, are expected to arrive in camp in Nigeria’s federal capital, Abuja on 29th December, with the UK-based players expected to start arriving on Monday, 3rd January,” the statement stated.

The three-time winners will face seven-time winners Egypt in the group opener on Tuesday, January 11, 2022, also included in the group are Sudan, and Guinea Bissau who are first timers in the AFCON.

See full list below:
Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)

Previous articleMourinho among the top choices of coach for Super Eagles
Next article101 million subscribers risk disconnection as SIM-NIN deadline approaches


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.