Home Education UNILAG lecturer bags $1,000 for best PhD thesis in Africa

UNILAG lecturer bags $1,000 for best PhD thesis in Africa

unilag - Lagospost.ng

Dr Felix Ajiola will receive a $1,000 grant from the Institute of African and Diaspora Studies, University of Lagos (UNILAG), in recognition of winning the Rahamon Bello Best Thesis Award.

The award was instituted last year for the best PhD thesis in Africa by a former Vice-Chancellor of the university, Professor Rahamon Bello.

Dr Ajiola’s PhD thesis is entitled, ‘Cocoa Production and Rural Development in Idanre, South Western Nigeria (1900 to 1996)’, PhD/2021, University of Ibadan.

Although he currently teaches History at UNILAG, he holds a PhD from the University of Ibadan.

Ajiola defeated 23 others from universities in Nigeria and Africa, according to Dr Feyi Ademola-Adeoye, the institute’s Deputy Director, who announced the award in Lagos.

First-runner-up is Dr Joseph Kunnuji, with a thesis entitled: “A Chronicle of Cultural Transformation; Ethnography of Badagry Ogu Musical Practices”, PhD (2021), Ethnomusicology, University of Cape Town, South Africa.

Dr Louis Kusi Frimpong with a thesis titled ‘Fear of Crime in the Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolis; Exploring the Role of the Built Environment and Community Social Organization’, PhD (2019), Geography and Resource Development, University of Ghana, is the second runner-up.

The prize will be presented to the winner at a ceremony on December 7 in the presence of members of the jury and other distinguished personalities. The first and second runners-up will also receive certificates and plaques.

Ademola-Adeoye explained that the Rahamon Bello Best PhD Thesis Award was created to recognize and appreciate the efforts of intellectuals whose PhD theses address African and diaspora issues. It also aims to promote intellectual and multidisciplinary research on African issues.

“A couple of months ago, a call went out for people who finished their PhD from African universities in the last two years, to apply for a competition that was being organised in honour of the 11th Vice-Chancellor of the university, Prof. Rahamon Bello.

“We received a total of 24 entries, that is PhD thesis and they were limited to fresh holders who must have obtained the degree from 2019 to the time of the announcement,” she said.

It was stated that the assessors, who were from Kenya, Nigeria, and the United Kingdom, worked independently and then met virtually to harmonise their choices.

“They were unanimous in their choice of the first, second and even the third-place winners.”

According to the deputy director, in 2020 Dr Adebayo Kudus Oluwatoyin, a sociologist and research fellow at the Institute of African Studies, was honoured with the award for the first time.

Previous articleComedian Seyi Law celebrates daughter on her first birthday
Next articleCOVID-19: Ban on African countries unfair, discriminatory — Adesina


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.