Home National Yoruba traditional rulers endorse Tinubu

Yoruba traditional rulers endorse Tinubu


Traditional rulers across the six states in the South-West, Kogi and Kwara, on Thursday affirmed the preeminent qualification of Senator Bola Tinubu, the All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential candidate, as the next president.

This is contained in a communique issued byAbagun Omololu, the Director-General, Conscience of Yoruba Nation, after their meeting in Ibadan.

The Ooni of Ife, Enitan Ogunwusi, presided over the meeting, which also gave Mr Tinubu the audience to address them.

The traditional rulers expressed satisfaction with what Mr Tinubu told them about his aspiration to become the next president of the country.

They acknowledged his solid democratic credentials and unwavering commitment to the entrenchment of democracy in Nigeria.

The obas also expressed concern about the current hardship by the people due to the lingering scarcity of fuel and as well the trauma they suffered due to non-availability of the new naira notes.

They called for more humane handling of the challenges to free the people from handedness, poverty and wants.

The traditional rulers further affirmed their faith, as well as support, for the unity of Nigeria, peace, prosperity and progress, pledging to support a democratic process based on free choices.

They pledged their support for the success of the general elections, urging the people to exercise their civic duties peacefully toward engendering desired change in the country.

While pledging their support to INEC, security agencies and other institutions involved in the general elections, they urged them to uphold the right of every Nigerian to exercise their franchise.

They expressed renewed faith in the steady democratic growth of the country, reiterating their beliefs that equity, as well as justice, are prerequisites for unity, peace, progress and prosperity.

The meeting was attended by Orangun of Oke-Ila, Adedokun Abolarinwa; Olugbo of Ugbo, Fredrick Akinruntan and Osemawe of Ondo Kingdom, Victor Kiladejo

Others included the Olugbon of Orile-Igbon, Olusola Alao and Elegushi of Ikate Kingdom, Oba Saheed Ademola, among others.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.