Home Entertainment Sanwo-Olu, other governors bag NAFEST Distinguished Honour Awards

Sanwo-Olu, other governors bag NAFEST Distinguished Honour Awards


Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State and his counterparts from other states on Thursday bagged the National Festival of Arts and Culture (NAFEST) Distinguished Honour Awards.

The award was conferred on the governors by Chief Olusegun Runsewe, Director-General, National Council for Arts and Culture (NCAC), during the awards presentation segment of the maiden edition of the National Stakeholders Conference on review of NAFEST.

Each state commissioner received the awards on behalf of their governors.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the four-day conference held in Abuja, had no fewer than 28 states in attendance.
Some of the states are: Gombe, Rivers, Ekiti, Kwara, Jigawa, Kebbi, Borno, Katsina, Kogi, Osun, Bayelsa, Kano, Oyo, Nasarawa, Adamawa, Enugu, Anambra, Cross River, Yobe, Kaduna, Delta, Ogun, Ondo, Bayelsa, Taraba and the FCT.

Runsewe said that the awards was to appreciate the governors for their immense contributions toward sustaining and upholding NAFEST in its 35 years of operations.

He gave special recognition to Gov. Sanwo-Olu and former governor of Rivers, Nyeson Wike, who he said played key roles in upscaling the annual festival when it was hosted in their states in 2022 and 2018 respectively.

“NAFEST has been held for 35 editions, we are appreciating the governors who have been instrumental to the success of the festival over the years. We appreciate them all,” he said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.