Home Football Premier League announces Manager and Young player of the season

Premier League announces Manager and Young player of the season

league - lagospost.ng

The English Premier League Manager of the Season nominees have been announced and leading the award are Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola and Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp.

In contention deservedly are also Brentford’s Thomas Frank, Newcastle’s Eddie Howe and Crystal Palace’s Patrick Vieira.

Pep Guardiola who is set to guide his side to a fourth Premier League title in five years will be the favourite for the award. The Spanish manager has done incredibly well to hold off a very strong Liverpool side.

This is not to say the other nominees are not deserving, Klopp has been in the title picture this season, Howe has done remarkable work in keeping Newcastle up, Vieira could guide Palace to a top-half finish this season and Frank has also been incredible with newly-promoted Brentford, so it wouldn’t be surprising if another manager was announced as the winner instead of Pep.

While this list is fairly accurate, there is one person who might feel left out: Arsenal manager Mikel Arteta, who is in pole position to lead Arsenal to a top-four finish despite trailing Tottenham Hotspur and Manchester United at the start of the season. Should the Gunners qualify for the Champions League, it would be a fantastic season.

In other news, the EPL also released the nominees for its 2021/22 Young Player of the Season award, with Trent Alexander-Arnold and Phil Foden among those up for the gong.

Alexander-Arnold’s Liverpool are chasing a quadruple and has 12 goals, though Foden’s Manchester City are well placed to retain their Premier League crown.

Chelsea’s Mason Mount, West Ham midfielder Declan Rice, Arsenal pair Aaron Ramsdale, Bukayo Saka and Crystal Palace duo Conor Gallagher and Tyrick Mitchell make up the eight-player shortlist.

Foden, who won the award last season, has netted nine goals alongside five assists for City, being a regular feature in an otherwise fluid lineup under Pep Guardiola.

Here is the full list of the Premier League Manager of the Season
– Thomas Frank (Brentford)
– Pep Guardiola (Man City)
– Eddie Howe (Newcastle United)
– Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)
– Patrick Vieira (Crystal Palace)

Here is the full list of the Young Player of the Season award
– Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
– Phil Foden (Manchester City)
– Conor Gallagher (Crystal Palace)
– Tyrick Mitchell (Crystal Palace)
– Mason Mount (Chelsea)
– Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
– Declan Rice (West Ham)
– Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Previous articleBuhari, Osinbajo, FG yet to speak on murder of Deborah Samuel
Next article16th edition of Lagos Motor Fair to hold on May 30


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.