Home Lagos Lagos State Assembly constitutes 40 standing committees

Lagos State Assembly constitutes 40 standing committees

Lagos -l agospost.ng

The Lagos State House of Assembly on Thursday constituted 40 standing committees for the effective operation of its oversight function.

The assembly has been operating with ad hoc committees since its inauguration by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu on June 6.

The speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, during plenary, named himself the chairman of the selection committee while the majority leader, Noheem Adams, oversees the business rules.

The speaker said the chief whip, Fatai Mojeed, would head the ethics protocol and privileges committee while Kehinde Joseph would run the public account (state).

Mr Obasa said the public account (local) would be chaired by Akinsanya Nureni, civic engagement by Lukmon Orelope, information strategy and security by Stephen Ogundipe, while the agriculture chairman is Olootu Emmanuel.

He said: “Other committees and heads are economic planning & budget, Saad Olumoh; education ministry and agency, Mrs Mosunmola Sangodara; education institution, Ajani Owolabi; while science & technology is Mr Seyi Lawal.

“Also included are environment parastatal, Mr Adebola Shabi; environment ministry, Mr Lanre Afinni; establishment, training and pension, Mr Aro Moshood; energy and mineral resources, Mr Sabur Oluwa; waterfront infrastructure development is Yishawu Gbolahan.

“Also, physical planning and urban development, Mr Sylvester Ogunkelu; transportation, Mr Temitope Adewale; commerce, industry, and cooperatives, Mr Abiodun Tobun; while women affairs, poverty alleviation, and job creation is Mrs Lara Olumegbon.”

According to the speaker, the works and infrastructure would be headed by Desmond Elliot; wealth creation and employment, Foluke Osafile; Finance, Femi Saheed; health, Musbau Lawal; home affairs, Abdulkareem Jubreel; tourism art and culture is Boonu Solomon.

Mr Obasa also said the youth and social development would be chaired by Biodun Orekoya; judiciary, human rights, public petition and LASIEC, Ladi Ajomale; lands, Seyi Lawal; housing, Segun Ege; CBD, Oladele Ajayi.

The speaker said David Doherty would chair the special duties and intergovernmental relations; local government administration and community affairs, Okanlawon Ganiyu; and compliance legislative, Setonji David (deputy chief whip).

He said Samuel Apata would head the procurement; interparliamentary, Kasunmu Adedamola (deputy majority leader); public-private partnership, Yinka Esho; overseas investment, Gbolahan Ogunleye.

Mr Obasa urged the committee chairmen to see the position as a call to serve the people of Lagos State and not to cater for personal interest.

The speaker advised them to live up to expectations by serving their respective committees diligently.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.