Home Lagos Lagos CP, Hakeem Odumosu leaves Lagos promoted to AIG of Police

Lagos CP, Hakeem Odumosu leaves Lagos promoted to AIG of Police

odumosu - Lagospost.ng

After being appointed Assistant Inspector General of Police, Lagos State Commissioner of Police Hakeem Odumosu would be leaving the state soon.

This was revealed on Tuesday, when Odumosu, who was promoted to commissioner last year, was elected as one of six commissioners promoted to AIG.

Odumosu had asked for his promotion to CP to be backdated. The Police Service Commission granted his appeal, and he was promoted along with others.

Five other Commissioners promoted to AIG include Buba Sanusi, CP, Katsina State; Ndatsu Aliyu Mohammed, CP Anti-Fraud, Force Headquarters Abuja; and Bello Sani Dalijan, CP INEC.

Others are CP Yobe State’s Sahabo Abubakar Yahaya and CP Benue State’s Akingbola Olatunji.

The PSC’s Head of Press and Public Relations, Ikechukwu Ani, also announced the promotion of two Assistant Inspectors-General of Police to the next rank of Deputy Inspectors-General.

The two AIG’s promoted to DIGs are AIG Zaki M. Ahmed and AIG Johnson Babatunde Kokumo.

“While AIG Zaki was promoted to cover the vacant duty post that was created as a result of the retirement of DIG Tijjani Baba who retired on October 6th, 2021, AIG Kokumo will be filling the gap left by DIG David Oyebanji Folawiyo who retired on 21st November 2021”, Ani said.

The promotion of 17 Deputy Commissioners of Police to Commissioners of Police was also approved by the commission.

Fidelis Ogarebe, the former Chief Security Officer of Enugu State Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, is one of the newly-promoted Deputy Commissioners of Police.

Kehinde and Yetunde Longe, a police couple, were also promoted to Commissioners.

According to Ani, the decisions were made at the PSC 13th Plenary Meeting, which took place in Abuja on Monday, December 20 and Tuesday, December 21, 2021, before adjourning to January 2022 for further deliberations.

“The Commission also approved the promotion of 24 Assistant Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police; 49 Chief Superintendents of Police to the rank of Assistant Commissioners.

“It also endorsed the elevation of 74 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents and eight hundred and sixty-six Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents.

“It also during the meeting approved the confirmation of 7,166 ASP11 to ASP1 and considered 24 promotion appeals relating to adjustment in promotion dates, seniority etc.

“The 17 Deputy Commissioners of Police promoted to Commissioners of Police after an interactive session with the Commission are; Josephine Nneka Anyasinti; Rhoda Adetutu Olofu, Godwin Aghaulor; Effiom Emmanuel DCA, Zone 5 Benin City; Stanley Kanayo chukwu Ude; Charles Ifeatu Mozie; Tajudeen Olakunle Bakare; Longe Kehinde Patrick; Samuel Olukayode Emmanuel; Faleye Olaleye; Yetunde Longe; Haruna Gabriel Garba; Tajudeen Akinwale Abass; Rex Dundun; Ambrose Sunny Onah, DC A&F Kwara State; Durosinmi A. Olatoye and Ndu Innocent Anene.

“The 24 promoted Deputy Commissioners of Police include – Hope Urunwa Okafor; Ajo Geofrey Orue; Olufunke Adeayo Ogunbode; Stephen Olubunmi Ogedengbe, ACP SWAT, FCID Annex Lagos; Yabode Oluwatoyin Agbminoja; Ojo Adekimi; Adebowale Lawal;; Yemi John Oyeniyi; Obasi Mary Okereke; Moses Ashu Ottah; Felix Akineme NNebue; Sunday Adeolu Oke; Gazali Alade Abdul-S; Salam; Fidelis Ndubuisi Ogarebe, former CSO to Enugu State Governor and AC State CID, Enugu State Command; Alamu Muyideen Obe; Olubode Ojajuni; Sheikh Mohammed Danko AC SEB, FCIID, Lagos; Simon Asamber Lough; Abiola Reuben Olutunde; Charles Ezekwesiri Dike; Victor Avwerosuo Erivwode; Nnanna Oji Ama; Michael Adegoroye Falade and Yakubu Useni Dankaro.”

Previous articleNECO reveals plan to make its examinations compulsory in all schools
Next articleMagodo residents protest the demolition of their houses


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.