Home News JUST IN: Supreme Court joins nine states on naira swap suit

JUST IN: Supreme Court joins nine states on naira swap suit

Supreme Court-lagospost.ng

The Supreme Court on Wednesday joined nine states as parties in the suit filed by Kaduna, Kogi and Zamfara challenging the naira swap deadline.

This is as the Governors Nasir El-Rufai and Yahaya Bello of Kaduna and Kogi respectively attended the court proceedings.

The Justice John Okoro-led nine-member panel joined the Attorneys General of Katsina Lagos, Ondo, Ogun, Ekiti and Sokoto States as co-plaintiffs.

The Attorneys General of Edo and Bayelsa states were joined as co-respondents.

The court ordered the original plaintiffs and the respondent – the Attorney General of the Federation – to amend the processes already filed to reflect the new parties.

A seven-man panel of the Supreme Court last Wednesday in a unanimous ruling granted an interim injunction restraining the Federal Government from implementing the CBN’s February 10 deadline for the swapping of the old naira notes with the new ones.

The judgement followed a motion ex-parte on behalf of three northern states Kaduna, Kogi and Zamfara, who on February 3rd filed a suit seeking to halt the implementation of the CBN’s policy.

On February 8, 2022, the Federal High Court in Abuja stopped the President, Muhammadu Buahri, alongside the CBN and commercial banks from interfering, suspending or extending the terminal date of February 10 for the expiration of the old naira notes.

Details later…



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.