Home Politics JUST IN: Senate begins screening of nominated INEC RECs

JUST IN: Senate begins screening of nominated INEC RECs


The Senate on Wednesday began the screening of the newly nominated Resident Electoral Commission of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The newly appointed RECs are; Etekamba Umoren (Akwa Ibom), Isah Shaka Ehimeakne (Edo), Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti), Abubakar Ahmed Ma’aji (Gombe), Shehu Wahab (Kwara), Prof. Mohammed Yelwa (Niger).

Others are Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers), Isma’ila Kaura Moyi (Zamfara), Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos), and Aminu Kasimu Idris (Nasarawa).

The Senate President, Godswill Akpabio on Tuesday read President Bola Tinubu’s letter written to the Senate seeking that it screen and confirm 10 new Resident Electoral Commissioners for a term of five years.

The RECs were appointed last week to serve in the Independent National Electoral Commission.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.