Home National Flood: NEMA alerts 14 states, 31 communities

Flood: NEMA alerts 14 states, 31 communities

Flood- LagosPost.ng

The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) says that 14 states and 31 communities may witness heavy rainfall leading to flooding from July 4 – 8 across the country.

This is in a statement signed by Mr Ibrahim Farinloye, Territorial Coordinator, NEMA, Lagos Territorial Office.

Farinloye urged relevant stakeholders within the states concerned to take precautionary measures to forestall loss of lives and property.

He listed the states and communities as Plateau: Langtang and Shendam; Kano State: Sumaila, Tudun Wada; Sokoto State: Shagari, Goronyo and Silame; Delta: Okwe.

Others include Kaduna State: Kachia; Akwa Ibom: Upenekang; Adamawa: Mubi, Demsa, Song, Mayo-Belwa, Jimeta, and Yola; Katsina State: Katsina, Jibia, Kaita and Bindawa.

He also added Kebbi State: Wara, Yelwa and Gwandu; Zamfara: Shinkafi and Gummi

Borno: Briyel; Jigawa: Gwaram; Kwara: Jebba; Niger: Mashegu and Kontagora are also included.

Farinloye thanked the Flood Early Warning System (FEWS) Central Hub of the Federal Ministry of Environment Abuja for sharing the information.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.